Sometimes, it’s the little things….

Listen to these cartoon fruits and veggies!

Listen to these cartoon fruits and veggies!

 

For many of us…at least I know it’s true in my case…it’s tough to gear our minds toward eating “healthy”. I used to be of the mindset that eating healthy meant paying more at the store and, actually, that’s the furthest thing from the truth.

Now, if you’re buying things like  “Smart Start” or “Healthy Choice” meals then, yes, it does start running into some money…because you’re paying for convenience. Usually, convenience always costs money. While those sort of meals are great for portion control and helping count calories the process of freezing them also cuts down on the nutrients you could be getting if the meals were freshly made.

We’ve been finding that a weekly trip down to your local produce place not only saves us a lot of money at the  grocery store, it also is giving us more health benefits via juicing and adding fresh vegetables to our meals. Fresh is always better than frozen…just ask any Eskimo.

Something else we’ve been pretty diligent at doing…..drinking water. I’m not a huge fan of tap water and I think it’s silly buying bottled water (for many reasons), so we invested in a Brita filtration pitcher. I’d much rather spend the money on replacement filters than bottled tap water.

Great idea!

Great idea!

 

The best part about this whole process, so far, is that I haven’t touched a coke or soft drink product in over a month. For me, that’s HUGE! I used to be, at least, a three Coke a day guy but, since we’ve been juicing it’s been nothing but water. O.k, I’ll admit…I did have a sweet tea when we went out to eat the other night, but things like that have been few and far between. I’m also attributing the lack of soft drinks to my losing and keeping off five pounds this past month.

That’s quite the motivator, I have to say.

 

Who ya gonna call?

Who ya gonna call?

 

If you’re looking for some motivation to quit drinking soda, here are a few “other” uses for Coke:

  • Washing your hair with Coke can help fade a dye that’s too dark.
  • Bug spray. It not only attracts bugs, but spraying them with the stuff kills them dead….like Raid.
  • A temporary fix for upset stomach and heartburn.
  • Added to a compost heap, it helps boost microorganisms.
  • Stain remover from clothes.
  • A cleaner for pots, pans, and toilets.
  • Coke can remove gum from hair…just pour it on and let it sit for a few minutes.
  • Temporary relief for bee stings, mosquito bites, and jellyfish stings.
  • Window cleaner
  • Bolt loosener
  • Rust  eater

So, in case you’re not seeing the big picture here……Coke (and soft drinks in general) are highly acidic. Not something I want to be ingesting. I mean, I wouldn’t drink battery acid….would you?

Eating healthy, or at least paying more attention to what we’re putting into our bodies, drinking more water, juicing for micronutrients…things like these are small steps into a bigger world of getting healthy and into better shape.

The older I get, I guess the more cognizant I become of taking better care of myself. The next big hurdle to tackle, so to speak, is…

Exercise!

More on that as it develops, so…

 

Until next time…

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

