Peace and quiet…sort of…

I like quiet...

I like quiet…

 

Not much going on here at the Means Ranch (still). The wife went south (literally) with her sister to celebrate her birthday (the sister) and brainstorm some business ideas, as they’re having some issues with the state of Florida. 

That left me in a quiet house with some writing, editing, and blogging. 

Sometimes it was too quiet, so I was forced to turn on the t.v. to help alleviate the lack of sound. 

As a lot of you probably know…at least anyone who knows me, even just a little bit…I’m not a big fan of what passes for “programming” these days, so I started checking out what Netflix had to offer.

Surprisingly enough, there were quite a few things that caught my eye. It looks like the Cartoon Network has opened their vaults and Netflix is now offering some of my old favorites such as Batman: The Brave and the Bold, Justice League, Justice League Unlimited, Dexter’s Lab, Batman Beyond, and Samurai Jack.

All great blasts from the past and, while I was scrolling through, I also checked out Netflix’s original programming….House of Cards and Lilyhammer.

 

Lil Steven in the house!

Lil Steven and friend (on top of his head) in the house!

I’m five episodes into Lilyhammer and I’m really liking it. I never saw Lil Steven Van Zandt (that’s how I still think of him) in The Sopranos, but I think he does a bang up job as Frank “The Fixer” Tagliano. Lilyhammer is just the right blend of ‘wise guy drama’ and ‘fish out of water comedy’ entertainment.  There’s been a bit of ‘colorful’ language, but nowhere near a Sopranos quantity of the stuff. 

If I didn’t know it was from Netflix, I’d think it was from a major cable network.

I also watched the first episode of House of Cards and, while it didn’t grab my attention like Lilyhammer did, it was still a pretty solid show and, well, anything with Kevin Spacey in it can’t be all bad. I’ll be getting into that more once I get caught up with Lilyhammer. 

Challenge accepted!

Challenge accepted!

We were off Sunday, and boy did I need it, but yesterday and today the A to Z Blogging challenge is still in full effect. 

Yesterday was “S”, for Starfire and today was a wild west double dose of “T” with Thunderbird and the Texas Twister.

Check ’em out!

 

Until next time….

 

 

Leave a Reply

