The Alphabet Challenge…

It's no April Fool's joke...

It’s no April Fool’s joke…

O.k, I’ll admit it.

I wasn’t really prepared.

Oh sure, I had a theme and a post planned for each day of the month (except Sundays) and I thought I was ready.

I wasn’t…..

I’m talking about those little snippets at the bottom of every post I’ve done here, this April….all pertaining to the A To Z Blogging Challenge.

It was started as a dare, about four years ago, by some bloggers looking to do something different. The “blog hop” is a pretty standard thing that a lot of bloggers take part in. You write about a certain theme or subject, visit other people doing the same, leave comments, find new blogs to follow, gain new followers, etc., etc.

This is a blog hop on steroids.

The main gist is to blog every day of the week, except for Sundays, for twenty-six days with each day representing a letter of the alphabet. The first day of April is “A”, the second is “B”, third is “C”, etc.

Now, since I already blog every day of the week as a writing exercise, I figured this would be a breeze. Then I came to realize something……it’s not the posting that’s hard….it’s trying to visit all those blogs is the real challenge.

Starting off, there were over 1700 people signed up and I already follow over one hundred blogs…most taking part in the challenge.

Another aspect of the challenge is to visit new blogs that you’ve never seen before, in hopes of finding new, cool, blogs and, hopefully, gaining some new followers in the process.

The first week, I tried to read and comment on all my ‘usuals’ as most people do. I wound up averaging around sixty comments a day on my posts.  Granted, I visited A LOT of blogs and left some comments, but I knew I wouldn’t be able to keep that pace up.

As expected, the second week saw things fall off a bit, but I was still averaging around 40-50 comments on my posts. Now, I’m the type who likes to respond to comments because, well, I feel that if someone has taken the time to read (or even skim) what I’ve written and leave a little comment then, the least I could do, is reply to their efforts.

It was beginning to get too much, though.

I began spending way too much time going through my ‘process’ and decided to scale it back just a bit. I’ve been trying to alternate through my “regulars”, hitting some one day, then others the next and then trying to check out at least five new blogs every day or every other day. A couple of days, I’ve had to forego reply to comments left for me, but I still try to keep up on that aspect.

At first, I had about two or three posts written in advance while still trying to post here on my usual Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday schedule. Now, I’m to the point where I’m writing the post on the day it’s “due”…which is o.k, it’s still keeping me in practice and keeping within the spirit of my ‘blogging schedule’ I had set up back in January.

Even though it has been a challenge….it’s still been a lot of fun and I’ve met a bunch of great new blogging buddies to follow. So far, I’ve picked up about thirty new followers and that’s always fun, too.

Would I say it’s been worth it?

Absolutely!

Will I do it again next year?

Absolutely…..though, I’ll be more prepared!

 

Challenge accepted!

Challenge accepted!

For today’s update:

My theme is “Obscure Comic Book  Heroes”

Yesterday was “Q” for Quasar and today was “R” for Razorback.

 

Until next time….

 

Leave a Reply

