The Case of the Lack of Motivation…

Motivation (1)
mo·ti·va·tion [moh-tuh-vey-shuhn]
noun
1.the act or an instance of motivating, or providing with a reason to act in a certain way: I don’t understand what her motivation was for quitting her job. Synonyms: motive, inspiration, inducement, cause, impetus.
2.the state or condition of being motivated: We know that these students have strong motivation to learn.
3.something that motivates; inducement; incentive: Clearly, the company’s long-term motivation is profit.

Definition number two, please!

You see, I like to write and I like to tell stories. I’m not sure if it’s just the creative outlet I’ve gravitated towards since I stopped drawing or I just really like to write….that’s still a mystery.

Anyway, a couple of years ago I participated in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). A little exercise where you write fifty thousand words in thirty days. Amazingly enough, I won (which just meant I wrote 50k words in the 30 day time frame) and had a pretty good story…

…but, no ending.

The title is The T.E.M.P Agency, about a Temporal Enforcement Mobile Patrol android who gets sent back to the 1930s to fix….something. His programming is a bit messed up and he’s really not sure just what, exactly, he’s meant to do….so, he does what his backup (autonomous) programming tells him. He watches movies to learn about the times and opens a detective agency, specializing in the strange and weird. Sounds simple enough, right?

It’s in need of  some heavy polishing and editing but, overall, it’s a fun story and I like the characters and setting for the most part.  Maybe the cover might look something like this? (Compliments of : The Pulp-O-Mizer )

Pulp-O-Mizer_Cover_Image

My main issue lies in just getting back to it. I think it has a lot of potential and people would like giving it a read, but I just need to sit down and go back through it. I tend to get bored with things if I don’t stick to them and I think that’s become the case here. I think that, once I get back into it, it will be with a fresh pair of eyes and things will jump out at me that I didn’t see before.

Kind of like one of those newfangled 3-D movies they have these days 🙂

Motivations, for me, come and go like the wind it seems.

In late January, I came up with a ‘schedule’ that I wanted to keep and blog six days a week. Mainly as a writing exercise and as something I’d have to ‘stick with’. I’ve been doing great with that, so far, but it’s not always easy. I guess it’s the same way for almost everything else in life. If it’s worth pursuing, it’s worth doing right and sticking with.

I need to harness that drive and get into my book. It really deserves and ending, if nothing else, and I’d like to see the whole thing through. It’s all a matter, not only getting, but staying motivated.

What motivates you and how do you ‘stick with it’?

Leave a Reply

