The Case of the Useful Utility…

Blog…they name is randomness.

O.k, well, it’s really not “Randomness”….but, you know that already.

This is the post I’ve been threatening to do for a while now and for no other reason then it’s random and I like the subject matter. What else is a blog for?

Anyway, this past Christmas the wife and I were out looking for a gift for our brother-in-law. He’s a bit of the ‘hard to buy for’ type so it’s sometime difficult to try to plan on something to get him.

He’s what I usually term an “A-Ha!!” type. I see something and go “A-ha!…he’d like that!”

That’s what happened as we walked through out local Sam’s Club. They had a two-pack of Leatherman tools. The “Wingman” along with the smaller key chain built “Style PS”. The PS, by the way is TSA Compliant….according to the Leatherman website.

The price was right so I grabbed not only one, but two….one for him and one for…..well, me. I’m glad I did, too because we went back a few days later and the entire display was gone. Sold out. It must’ve been a pretty popular item and, after I got it home and started fiddling with it, I could see why.

First off, the “Wingman” is heavy. It only weighs .2 lbs, but if you knocked someone in the head with it, they’d sure feel it.

Note the rivets

Note the rivets

The thing is sturdily built, secured with rivets which also holds the belt clip. It’s made from 420 stainless steel unfolds pretty smoothly. The main tool is the pliers/wire cutters that form when you initially open it up. The spring has a good snap to it, without it being too hard to manipulate.

Rigid teeth for better grip.

Rigid teeth for better grip.

On the left side, as you look at this picture, it folds out into a small pair of spring-loaded scissors. I’ve cut with them and they’re very good and easy to use.

Snip, snip

Snip, snip

On the opposite side, it folds out (with one hand, if needed) into a pretty sharp knife that appears to also function as a line cutter, for fishing line, I would assume. The little ‘lock’ icon has to be pressed to fold the knife back in….a pretty nice safety feature so you don’t cut your own fingers off.

Note the locking mechanism

Note the lock icon

On the flip side of the scissor side, it unfolds into two small screwdrivers. A flat head as well as a ‘phillips’ head.

Handy dandy

Handy dandy

The other side, opposite the knife, offers a combination of bottle opener, file/rule, and line cutter…at least I think it’s a line cutter…or maybe it’s the “package opener” listed on the website?

Gotta have a bottle opener...

Gotta have a bottle opener…

The whole kit ‘n caboodle unfolded looks like this….

Not made by the Swiss

I wonder if the Swiss are jealous?

All in all a very hand little tool to carry around. Whether it be for day-to-day use or a camping trip, it’s something I’d make sure to have with me regardless of where I’m going. One of the best features is….it also comes with a 25 year warranty. Not too shabby.

I’d show you a picture of the key chain tool it came with, but it’s out and about with the wife at the moment….on the car key chain. For frame of reference, though, it’s the Style PS on the website.

Maybe next year, I’ll pick up the Super Tool model. Hey, don’t judge….it never hurts to have the right tool for the job.

Oh, and by the way, my brother-in-law loved it….and that’s what counts the most.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

