The Case of the Missing Mouse….part deux

In my last post, I mentioned how my mom and sister came down from Kentucky to spend some time in the Sunshine State. Of course, that also means a trip to Disney World up in Orlando. Being only about an hour and a half away, it was a pretty quick jaunt up there and that’s how we spent our Tuesday.

First off….the prices. Ugh! Roughly $100.00 a person…just to get into the place. On the plus side, we had some gift cards from birthdays and Christmas which offset the price a bit. I can see why this guy is smiling, though….

By Hook or by crook...

By Hook or by crook…

Getting into the park, my mom decided she wanted to rent a wheelchair to help her get around a bit better. She has diabetes and it’s really been playing havoc on her feet lately, so we headed over to the rental place. She figured she’d just get a motorized scooter and be on her way. Well, besides all the scooters being rented, they also cost $70.00 while a wheelchair only cost $12.00. I told her I’d be glad to wheel her around the park….of course, she had to endure me calling her “Ironsides” for the day. We got a good laugh out of it, if nothing else.

Then, the crowds. Originally, my mom wanted to go on Valentine’s Day (Thursday), but I figured it would be way too crowded so we moved it to Tuesday. In all honesty, I don’t think it made a difference. The place was jam packed and I was in a unique position to notice just how much people don’t pay attention to wheelchairs being pushed along the sidewalks.

Mom had been to the land of the Mouse before, but it was my sister’s first time and I think she really enjoyed it. I guess no matter how old you are (she’s only six years younger then me), it’s one place that can still make you feel like a kid.

Here are a few shots via the handy, dandy, camera phone….enjoy.

Until next time….

6 responses

  1. It looks so warm…….ahhhhh!

  2. Oh, it was! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. That looks like a really fun day! And I wheeled my dad through Disneyland in July one year, so I can imagine the wheelchair vs. walkers showdown.

    1. We had a great time, yes ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh wow…in July?? That must have been pretty brutal, but God bless you….it can be a real chore navigating through that place, especially when it’s so hot out.

  4. Before you go again, there are way cheaper prices for Florida residents, and, depending on how far in advance you plan, way cheaper ticket options. Drop me a note, and I’ll fill you in.

  5. Hey Lela, I sure will and thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

