The Case of the Up and Coming Old Codger….

200

Kal El has seen better days…

 

It’s tough when you, one day, wake up and realize that you’re on your way to becoming “old”. You may, or (hopefully) may not, know what I’m talking about. It’s a slow transition. First, at least in my case, it was the hair.

My hairline began to recede, just a bit, starting in my 30s. Then a bit more. Then the dreaded ‘male pattern baldness’ set in and I was fighting the battle on two fronts….front and back. O.k, I wasn’t really fighting a battle….more like just spectating. Still though, it’s something that’s had my attention for a while.  When I was younger, I had a lot of hair. It was fairly fine (in consistency, not looks), but I still had quite a bit of it.

I constantly had a comb in my pocket.

back pocket combs

Come on, admit it, you had one too….

I haven’t carried a comb in over five years.

After that, the metabolism began to slow and I started gaining weight. The good (I guess you could call it that) thing was that it settled for just going for my middle so, if I suck it in, I can pass for thinner….provided I can hold my breath long enough.  It used to be that I could shovel just about anything into my body, and at any quantity, and as long as I stayed fairly active or worked out, I’d be o.k. These days, it’s an uphill and often frustrating battle of ‘the bulge’. Just recently, I’ve started really trying to watch what I’ve been eating and, to a smaller extent, exercising when I feel guilty.

The newest thing on the horizon is my vision. I’ve had glasses since I was eleven, just for distance, because I was near-sighted. Now my glasses prescription has changed so drastically that I have to look over or under my glasses to see the fine print on labels and such. My wife mentioned getting progressive lenses, which I’m still mulling over, but I don’t want to be there yet. I never want to be there…..but, unfortunately, there is where my body seems to be taking me.

I know it seems like I’m doing a lot of complaining over small stuff….and, I’ll admit, I am a bit. I mean, honestly, I could have it a lot worse. I’m in pretty good health for the most part. I have the use of all my limbs and facilities. I have no problem getting around, seeing (besides the glasses) or hearing. I’m sure a lot of people would love to be where I’m at, health-wise, so I always try to remember to count my blessings.

On a brighter note, though….

In the grand scheme of things, my hair isn’t important at all. When I noticed that I was starting to lose it, I began cutting it short….buzz cut short. A couple of years ago,I bought a clipper set and now cut it myself. Saving me time and money. The plus side is that, now, I don’t have to worry about combing it and I was never really all that vain, anyway.

Picking up some weight isn’t so bad and it gives me the opportunity to learn more about eating healthy and exercise. Something I’ve always been interested in, but never took seriously. Now that I have to, it’s becoming a challenge and an interesting one, at that. I’ve been looking, more and more, into the Paleo lifestyle which, mainly, consists of ‘eat lots of meat, fruits, vegetable, drink water, walk a lot, and lift heavy stuff’. It’s an interesting diet lifestyle change and something I’ve been looking into for a while.

And, just in case you might be interested in the Paleo thing, here are a few places to start….

  • Mark Sisson a Mark’s Daily Apple has all sorts of tips and recipes as well as a free e-book for signing up for his mailing list.
  • Another good primer over at Paleo Diet Lifestyle.
  • One I just discovered, today, via a pal over on Google Plus. PaleOMG looks like it has a lot of recipes as well as great advice on ‘going Paleo’. I still need to dig through it, more, but it looks pretty cool.

As far as my vision goes, I see perfectly (distance wise) with glasses and having to look over them to read small print is a pretty minuscule complaint. At least I still have my vision, corrected or not. That’s something to be thankful for.

When I look around and see the blind, the deaf, people confined to wheelchairs or even to bed, I just have to give thanks to the Lord above. I could be much worse, that’s for sure. As the saying goes, “There but for the grace of God, go I”.

Besides, when it comes to my choices…..I’ll gladly take getting ‘old’.

2 responses

  1. I’ve actually been reading Robb Wolf’s The Paleo Solution. It’s an interesting read and the Paleo “diet” makes sense, but I don’t think I’ll be going Paleo anytime soon. It’s going to take time and lots of work especially when I live with my parents and my father only eats certain things. He can’t let go of his rice that’s for sure.

    But who knows maybe one day I’ll give those recipes a try and convert him… slowly. 😉

  2. Heh, yeah I think any sort of conversion has to be done slowly. We’ve been trying to go ‘bread free’ here, but it’s tough. We both love bread and pasta so it’s been a slow go. I figure once we do that, daily will be next on the list. I’ve already gone from milk to almond milk in my coffee, but that’s about it.

    I need to do more reading on paleo so I’ll have to look into the book you mentioned.

    Thanks Jennie 🙂

Leave a Reply

