First Loves Blogfest…

“Ah…Venice…”

My good bud, Mark Craddock, over at Cross Planes did a little thing he found over at author Alex J. Cavanaugh’s site….the “First Loves” Blogfest.

It looked like a fun trip down memory lane and I’m always up for some nostalgia so…..here goes:

“Up, up, and….well, you know…”

First Movie: Superman, The Movie.

I can’t even begin to tell you just how excited I was the first time I saw a movie trailer for the original Superman movie. It was like all my comic-book and childhood dreams had come true. Seriously. I (almost…I was always a skeptic) really could believe a man could fly.

 First Song: Rhinestone Cowboy.

I remember going for car trips with the family and this being on the radio constantly. My parents…well, mainly my dad…were country music fans and this was all over the place growing up. I used to sing it at karaoke all the time and know every word by heart. Go ahead and snicker if ya want, but I’m gonna be where the lights are shinin’ on me….

First Book: Wild Cards, edited by George R.R. Martin.

Some people don’t know, but before George R.R. Martin was writing boring fantasy novels (yeah, I said it…so?) and after he had worked on the television show Beauty and the Beast, he helped write some of the best darn superhero novels the world had ever seen. Set in a world that was a lot like ours, yet strangely different, Martin pulled together some of the best sci-fi writers out there and, based on his old Superworld RPG campaigns, they began putting together one of the best shared world series I’ve ever read. I can’t recommend the series enough. If you’re a comic book fan or just a fan of good sci-fi, in general, you’ll love them. I did and still do.

 

First Person: Lynda Carter.

Wonder Woman herself, she was one of my very  first crushes. Oh, I knew nothing would ever come of it, but a guy could fantasize, right?  She’s still beautiful today at age 60 and, yes, my wife knows…she even happens to agree with me 😉



6 responses

  1. Oh yes, I agree with you on your love – she has wonderful legs!

    Sharing the Love!
    English Speaking Zone

  2. No doubt….a very classic beauty 🙂

  3. Superman made several lists on Monday.
    Thanks for participating in my blogfest!

    1. My pleasure and thanks for the great idea.

  4. Wonder Woman is awesome, they really do need to make a new movie about her.

    Andrea

  5. I agree, Andrea, it’s long overdue. They need to stop doing retreads of Superman and Batman and give WW her shot 🙂

Leave a comment