C: Count Dooku

"Don't 'count' me out, yet....muahahaha!"

 

When people as me the question….

Star Trek or Star Wars?

I, immediately, answer Star Wars. No hesitation at all. In fact, I’d consider myself a huge Star Wars fan and probably couldn’t even hazard a guess as to how many times I’ve seen the first three (or last three, depending on how you look at them) movies…New Hope, Empire Strikes Back, and Return of the Jedi.

That said, though, as a fan I’ve taken umbrage at some of Mr. Lucas’ decisions in creating his world. Not that I know better than George, but I do know what I like.  Like many people, I wasn’t overly thrilled with his newest offerings, Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones, and Revenge of the Sith but it was nice to see some ‘new’ material, which did spawn cooler things, such as the true power of the Jedi and The Clone Wars.

While the ‘newer’ movies were a bit threadbare on plot (in my opinion), they did turn out some cool and dynamic characters…..and, no, I’m not talking about Jar Jar Binks.

One of these characters was Count Dooku. Next to General Grievous, I think The Count is one of my favorite ‘new’ characters that came out of the second trilogy.

Played by the great Christopher Lee, Dooku was once a respected Jedi Master and pupil of Yoda. He began being seduced to the Dark Side by Darth Sidious, becoming the evil Darth Tyranus. During the Clone Wars, Dooku helps train General Grievous and is the leader of the Separatists.

Lee played Dooku with finesse and class and, supposedly did most of his own light saber swordplay. It’s been reported that the “Count” portion of his name was meant to reflect his time as one of the most famous Dracula actors to ever play the role. Lee was also a contemporary of Peter ‘Grand Moff Tarkin’ Cushing, having starred in many Hammer films together in the 1950s.

If you’re looking for a villain with style, look no further than Count Dooku.

3 responses

  1. I would pick Star Wars too…but I think I only saw the first of the 3 new movies. oops. I did read a few of the books when I was growing up though 🙂

  2. Haha…well, as long as you pick Star Wars…you’re o.k in my book 🙂

Leave a Reply

