NaNoWriMo

So, I’ve been thinking (shocking, I know) that this year I’m -really- going to give a shot at doing National Novel Writing Month…or NaNoWriMo…as it’s known in ‘web vernacular’.  I emphasize the word ‘really’ because I gave it a half hearted attempted last year and got as far as……the sign up. Hey, don’t laugh, I once had a writing professor whose favorite saying was “Once begun, half done..”

That said, though, I have a rough ….ok, -very- rough outline of a story I’ve been thinking about for a while now. A tale of time travel, disposable robots, masked vigilantes, and gypsy fortune tellers….all set in the back drop of 1930’s New York. A sort of TCM meets SyFy. At least that’s what I’m going for now…it could all change when I sit down and start putting pixels to blank screen.

According to the site, it’s all about churning out a 50K word novel in 30 days, putting quantity over quality. It seems fairly revision/editing heavy so having any sort of outline seems to be a plus. I’ll probably keep adding to the outline which will, hopefully, give me a jump on things come November.

Will I be able to WriMo? Will I finish? Will I even start? The answers to that and many more questions will be answered in No(vember)….

Leave a Reply

