We shall be free….

Yesterday, I was thinking a lot about today.

September 11th, 2011…the ten year milestone of the Al Quida attacks on U.S. soil. I don’t like calling it an “anniversary” because I think of an anniversary as something that’s celebrated. This is definitely not something we celebrate. Remembering that day, like most people, I can recall exactly where I was and what I was doing when I learned of the attacks. Just getting out of the shower, the living room t.v. was still on and there was a news report about a ‘plane that had accidentally flew into one of the Twin Towers.’ On my way to work the radio filled me in on the real situation as it came to light.

I can remember thinking, more than once, ‘Is this real?’.

A lot of memories from back then…one of the good memories was how the country seemed to unite after the attacks. Everyone in Washington seemed to put politics aside and looked at getting the country back to a semblance of normalcy. I can remember it being a good six months until we started hearing stories about bi partisan fighting starting to creep back into our daily lives. I guess it’s human nature that complacency breeds derisiveness…..I don’t know.

It always reminds me of the Garth Brooks song “We Shall Be Free”, for some reason. Especially the words…

“And when money talks for the very last time 
And nobody walks a step behind 
When there’s only one race and that’s mankind 
Then we shall be free”

While I’m not a huge fan of Mr. Brooks….I think he had something there.

Never forget.

Leave a Reply

