“Look! Up on the screen! It’s a bird…”

So, I’ve been in a bit of the “WoW doldrums” (like a lot of WoW players) of late and have been reading a lot about the new DC Comics MMO.  It’s not coming out until Nov. 2nd (supposedly) so, I got to looking around for another ‘super’ MMO to tide me over until then.

Having played City of Heroes for over two years, I decided to give it another look.  The game is still going….not strong, from the looks of things…but it’s still going.  They’re even doing something they should have been doing since launch, giving free trials. I figured, ‘what the heck’ and started to d/l the trial.  Well when the timer came in at a little over five hours, I said forget it. Besides, thinking back, I’m still a bit miffed at all the nerfing they did back when I really enjoyed the game.  I decided I didn’t want to give them any more of my money, even if it was for just a month.

I then pulled out my copy of Champions Online that I had bought last year….and wouldn’t run on my (then) newly purchased laptop.  Apparently there was an issue with the graphics card (which they were aware of, btw) and it never ran correctly on my Toshiba. I thought I’d see how it looked on my new Samsung and was pleasantly surprised. It looks pretty cool….just ‘comic booky’ enough for me, but with still some great detail.  So far I’m still in the tutorial, but the gameplay isn’t bad and should carry me on until DCU Online comes out.

Is it just me or does the ‘super’ genre need more representation in the MMO market?

2 responses

  1. It does you’re right about that. I’ve been enjoying Allods Online a lot lately, also Starcraft II.

  2. Yeah, Jackie started playing Allods but stopped before she got hooked 🙂 It looked very cool, a bit “WoWish” but still, cool. Never tried SC but have heard good stuff about it.

Leave a Reply

