The “Z” word…

..as in Zombie.
Funny thing about Zombies.  I hate ’em.  Really.  I usually can’t stand the concept and think it’s absolutely ridiculous that the shambling dead could cause so much destruction.  I don’t know if it’s more the commentary on human ignorance or just the silliness of it, but most things ‘zombie’ drive me bonkers.
That said, though, there are a  couple of things that I’m ashamed to admit I actually enjoy from the genre.

World War Z by Max Brooks.  A different take on the genre, from the survivors point of view.  I’m almost halfway through it and, after having not read a novel in quite a while, am enjoying it a metric ton.

Planet Terror , part of the “Grindhouse” double feature by Robert Rodriquez.  I don’t know if it’s the cheese factor that makes me like this one or just the fact that it harkens back to the old movies of the 70’s who, for all their faults and corniness, still drove the imagination of generation.  It stays pretty true to the 70’s style.

Hopefully, I won’t be around when the zombie apocalypse comes about…..mainly because I’d be annoyed more than anything…
Leave a Reply

